megan-spring-80

If you don’t know this about me yet, I la-la-LOVE high-waisted anything. I’m an hourglass figure, so it’s a genrally flattering silhouette for my body type. But I’m also a mom of two kids. My stomach has soft stuff that I’d rather have tucked under my waistband rather than hanging out over top of it.  Jeans, skirts, pants, whatever. I like it nice and high.

If you’re cautious of this whole high-waist trend, let me offer some advice to steer you in the right direction. When it comes to denim, a 9-inch rise is ideal. That’s sort of the standard height that is associated with most high-waisted jeans. It should hit right at or slightly below your navel. But sometimes you’ll find an 11- or 13-inch rise out there. That’s risky. My body says a big fat ‘NO’ to that high of a rise for jeans because it’s just tucking too much tummy under a waistband. You have to find the right balance of tucking enough of your tummy under and enough over. If you have a nice flat stomach, go as high as you want with your rise. Heck, go low and show it off!

Pants that are not denim are a whole other story. Like these gauzy belted ones from Vernacular that I’m wearing. These are a high-rise “paper bag” style. They are generally cut looser in the hips and stomach and then cinched up above your navel at your natural waist line. This is when an 11- or 13-inch rise is perfect because the pants are cut loose enough to accommodate your entire abdomen section. And I’ll be honest, they are heaven! The trick to styling these is you have to wear your top tucked in, which leaves your back-end exposed. So, if you have any rear end concerns, you might want to consider an oversized blazer, denim jacket or long cardigan.

megan-spring-76

Shop look HERE

megan-spring-72

Shop look HERE

xo, Meagan

 

Leave a comment